Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

You are here: Home > Courts > Christchurch


Physical 282 Durham Street CHRISTCHURCH
Postal DX: WX10021
Telephone 0800 268 787, or +64 9 583 1900 from overseas
Fax 03 962 4233
Resident Judges His Honour Judge BP Callaghan, His Honour Judge AA Couch, His Honour Judge CJ Doherty, Her Honour Judge JA Farish, His Honour Judge AD Garland, His Honour Judge T Gilbert, His Honour Judge PR Kellar, His Honour Judge GS MacAskill, Her Honour Judge JA McMeeken, Her Honour Judge JJ Moran, His Honour Judge RJ Murfitt, His Honour Judge RE Neave, His Honour Judge SJ O'Driscoll, His Honour Judge DJL Saunders, Her Honour Judge E Smith, His Honour Judge CP Somerville, His Honour Judge NA Walsh.
Office Hours 9am to 5pm Mon - Fri
Time/distance from Christchurch airport to courthouse Total distance 11 km.
Approximate driving time 20 minutes.
Closest bus stops/train information A bus exchange is situated on Lichfield Street with a walkway from Colombo Street. This is approximately a 10 minute walk from the courthouse. There is a bus stop on Durham Street close to the courthouse.
Entrance information The entrance for the District Court and High Court is located at 282 Durham Street.
Once through the entrance the main reception counter is situated straight ahead.
The District Court is situated on the ground floor and the High Court on Level 1.
The entrance for the Family Court is at 85 Armagh Street.
Parking facilities There is no free parking. Limited street metered parking is available close to the courthouse. There are metered car parks on the corner of Chester Street and Durham Street, and on Durham Street opposite the courthouse, costing $2 per hour, or $8 per day (as of June 2014). This parking is subject to change due to the continuing road works in the central city.

Document Actions

New Zealand Government Online