Coroners Court

  • Deputy Chief Coroner Anna Tutton
    6 December 2021

     

    This protocol applies to all regions from Monday 6 December 2021 until further notice.

    It is anticipated that a new protocol will be in place from February 2022, covering the way the Coroners Court then will operate under the COVID-19 Protection Framework (traffic light system). 

    In the meantime, the current Alert Level 2 and 3 protocol dated 30 August 2021 will continue to apply in all regions. 

    Contact details: local Coronial Services Unit

    Contact details

    1. whangarei@justice.govt.nz
    2. auckland@justice.govt.nz
    3. hamilton@justice.govt.nz
    4. rotorua@justice.govt.nz
    5. hastings@justice.govt.nz
    6. palmerstonnorth@justice.govt.nz
    7. wellington@justice.govt.nz
    8. christchurch@justice.govt.nz
    9. dunedin@justice.govt.nz

     

    1. If any party wishes to contact the Court regarding an urgent matter, these emails are also the addresses to use.

    2. All filing by mail is to be to these addresses:

    a. Whangarei CSU

    AX10041

    Whangarei

    b. Auckland CSU

    CX10079

    Auckland

    c. Hamilton CSU

    GX10014

    Hamilton

    d. Rotorua CSU

    JX10517

    Rotorua

    e.Hastings CSU

    MX10033

    Hastings

    f. Palmerston North CSU

    PX10001

    Palmerston North

    g. Wellington CSU

    SX10044

    Wellington

    h. Christchurch CSU

    WX10073

    Christchurch

    i.  Dunedin CSU

    YX10149

    Dunedin

    3. Any enquiries about a case should be made to the Case Manager of the coroner assigned to the case.

    4. If participants do not know which coroner is assigned to the case, they can contact their local Coronial Services Unit at the email addresses above.

     

     

  •  

    Chief Coroner Judge Deborah Marshall
    current as at 25 August 2021

    1.  Courts are an essential service. Coroners conduct essential services in relation to deaths reportable under the Coroners Act 2006.

    2.  At Alert Level 4, subject to the restrictions noted below, the Coroners Court will carry out as many of its usual functions as can be safely supported. This requires the cooperation of all parties to ensure the courts function at the fullest extent they safely can in performance of their constitutional role.

    3.  Coroners conduct most of their work on the papers, without the need for a Court hearing. Alert Level 4 will not impact on coroners receiving new cases, making directions on files and making written findings.

    4.  At Alert Level 4, no face to face court appearances will proceed. Some matters may be dealt with by audio-visual link or teleconference.

    5.  Whether hearings are suitable to proceed by audio-visual link or teleconference will be considered on a case by case basis.

    6.  Any enquiries about a case should be made to the Case Manager of the coroner assigned to the case.

    7.  If participants do not know which coroner is assigned to the case, they can contact their local Coronial Services Unit at: 

    local Coronial Services Unit