Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Document Actions


The Right Honourable Dame Helen Winkelmann, Chief Justice

SC Judges April 2019

The Honourable Justice William Young

The Honourable Justice Glazebrook

The Honourable Justice O'Regan

The Honourable Justice Ellen France





The Right Honourable Helen Winkelmann, Chief Justice

                       Chief Justice Helen Winkelmann 2019                                                         

Chief Justice Helen Winkelmann graduated with a BA/LLB from Auckland University. She began work as a law clerk with Auckland firm Nicholson Gribbin (later Phillips Fox, now DLA Piper). She was admitted to the bar in 1985.  In 1988, she became the first female partner and one of the youngest ever in the firm’s then 117-year history.  She remained at the firm until 2001 when she began practice as a barrister sole specialising in insolvency, commercial litigation and medical disciplinary litigation.  In 2004, she was appointed as a High Court Judge and in 2010 was appointed as Chief High Court Judge.   In 2015, Justice Winkelmann was appointed to the Court of Appeal. In December 2018 she was appointed Chief Justice of New Zealand.  She was sworn in as the Chief Justice on 14 March 2019.



Justice William Young 2016

The Honourable Justice William Young

Justice William Young graduated LLB (Hons) from the University of Canterbury and later gained a doctorate from Cambridge University. He joined the Christchurch firm of R A Young Hunter and Co in 1978, leaving in 1988 to practise as a barrister. He was appointed a Queen's Counsel in 1991, to the High Court in 1997 and to the Court of Appeal in January 2004. Justice William Young became President of the Court of Appeal in February 2006. In June 2007, he was awarded the DCNZM (Distinguished Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit) for services as President of the Court of Appeal of New Zealand. Justice William Young was redesignated a knight companion of that order in 2009. Justice William Young was appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court with effect from 1 July 2010. He is an honorary Bencher of the Middle Temple and an honorary Fellow of Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge.


Justice Glazebrook 2016

The Honourable Justice Glazebrook

Justice Susan Glazebrook has an MA (1st Class Hons), an LLB (Hons) and a Dip. Bus (Finance) from the University of Auckland and a D.Phil from the University of Oxford in French legal history. Before being appointed to the High Court in June 2000, she was a partner in law firm Simpson Grierson and a member of various commercial boards and government advisory committees. She served as President of the Inter-Pacific Bar Association in 1998. She was appointed to the Supreme Court on 6 August, 2012.


Justice O'Regan 2016

The Honourable Justice O'Regan

Justice Mark O’Regan graduated from the Victoria University of Wellington in 1977. He was admitted as a barrister and solicitor of the High Court in 1977 and became a partner with the firm Chapman Tripp in 1984. He became a judge of the High Court in 2001 and a judge of the Court of Appeal in January 2004. Justice O'Regan was President of the Court of Appeal from 1 July 2010 to August 2014. He was appointed a Supreme Court Judge effective 1 September 2014.


Justice Ellen France

The Honourable Justice Ellen France

Justice Ellen France has an LLB (Hons) from Auckland University and an LLM from Queen’s University, Ontario. Before being appointed to the High Court in April 2002 she was a senior legal adviser in the Department of Justice Law Reform Division; Crown Counsel and then Deputy Solicitor-General in the Crown Law Office. She was appointed a judge of the Court of Appeal in June 2006. She was made President of the Court of Appeal with effect from 1 September 2014. On 22 July 2016 she was appointed Supreme Court Judge.




March 2019  

The Right Honourable Dame Sian Elias,   'Chief Justice retires'